Florence

Earlier this year I travelled around Italy. I have been blogging about it since, but somehow managed to miss one of my absolute favorites – Firenze!

I had been in Florence before, and it had been my favourite city in Italy. I was a little bit afraid it would disappoint.

Turns out I fell even more in Love with the capital of Tuscany. So much so, that it was one of my top choices for my Erasmus.

This city has something special. Besides being filled with art – including some must see works, – like Michael Angelo’s David and a room filled with Botticelli’s at the Uffizi, – I find it captures what I love about Italy. Everyone is nice. The food is amazing – I truly fell in love with the San Lorenzo market – and even if it is the second or third most important city, I feel everyone knows everyone.

Against all odds I don’t find this to be a particularly photogenic town. Quite the opposite. I never seem to capture its full charm.

Maybe that is why I love it. It has something a lens can’t quite capture.

Of course I tried and am posting a few of the winning shots.

DSC_0364 DSC_0293 DSC_0322 DSC_0330 DSC_0331 DSC_0335 DSC_0366 DSC_0368 DSC_0369 DSC_0370 DSC_0371 DSC_0384 DSC_0393 DSC_0396 DSC_0398 DSC_0466 DSC_0470 DSC_0473 DSC_0474 DSC_0488 DSC_0510 DSC_0511

23 responses to “Florence

  1. You didn’t do such a bad job! It’s a city I would love to see, even more so than Rome, yet you’re right. I haven’t seen too many astounding photos of Firenze either.

    • Thank you! Even not being too photogenic it is still one amazing place! But you have to see it for yourself!
      Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

  2. Love your photos of Florence! I’m thinking of going there in June and these photos definitely make me excited about the prospect πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much – that is possibly one of the best compliments anyone can give me! πŸ˜€
      If you get the chance you should definetly visit your friend there – and you will even have a personal guide to show you the town! I am sure you won’t regret going to italy! πŸ™‚
      And thank you for reading! πŸ˜€

  3. Visited Tuscany last autumn. Stayed in Lucca and spent an afternoon in Florence. Didn’t get into the Uffizi but took loads of photos of the Duomo. That is quite spectacular.

Leave a Reply

