On travelling solo – Ljubljana

So as I said on my last post, a few weeks ago I travelled alone for the first time.

I went to Ljubljana for a couple of days, and even though that hardly counts as travelling solo – it was enough to get a taste of it.

Well as for my destination – I have to admit I was fairly nervous.

I mean – even though I am comfortable doing things on my own, and am very capable of finding my way around – I did not exactly know what to expect of Slovenia. I had no idea of how it would be – how would the people be.

You know it is very easy to have some misconceptions – and of course, Eastern Europe is more famous for being unsafe than Western.

I am not saying that is right, but the most eastern city I had ever visited was Bratislava – and only stayed for a couple of hours, before jumping on the next train to vienna, for a reason.

The train station did not feel safe, and there were a couple of really dodgy guys paying way too much attention to what we were doing.

Of course – that might just have been unlucky, probably was – but it was my experience. And there were four of us.

If arriving alone in Ljubljana would be like that – I would probably never travel alone again – and frankly, I would freak out a little.

Thankfully it was not. Quite the opposite – I arrived and instantly people were really nice, and I had a good feeling about the city from the start.

I am very much ok with spending time alone – I actually need it sometimes. But I also love to meet new people.

Usually when you are in a bigger group it is hard to meet a lot of people. Firstly you will be speaking in your own language. And also you wont be as open to talking to a stranger when your friends are all next to you. I am not saying you won’t – probably just not as much.

But then, if I wanted to be quiet I did not have to speak with anyone – and that is also great.

I wondered around the city alone for the whole afternoon – and was able to take as long as I wanted. I could take as many pictures as I wanted. Took my time adjusting the aperture and exposure – and the angles. And had no poor soul waiting for me.

You see I am a bit annoying with photography – I am aware of that – and I usually already have whom ever I am travelling with waiting up for me. So it was really nice to feel I had all the time in the world.

I know, with only a couple of days, I could not even miss anyone. So maybe long-term solo travel is not for me. Who knows? But short trips by myself? I am ok with that!

DSC_0749 DSC_0705 DSC_0706 DSC_0717 DSC_0721 DSC_0725 DSC_0726 DSC_0728 DSC_0730 DSC_0731 DSC_0737 DSC_0740 DSC_0742 DSC_0753

17 responses to “On travelling solo – Ljubljana

    • Hahah Thanks! They were all ver town – and no one really knows why! I guess it must be some kind of artistic instalation or something! it is however quite cool!
      Thank you for reading 🙂

      • There is a movie Wag the Dog… they start to through shoes all over as a propaganda plot, here’s a scene:

        I’ve been seeing those in Finland too… 🙂

      • That is so interesting! And in finland too?? I wonder what it means! The movie sound really cool as well – I should watch it! I wonder what the shoes mean! I guess they did the right job making me very curious!
        Thank you for the info, and thank you for reading 🙂

    • It is! I highly recommend it! It is a pitty it is so overlooked – despite being small I really enjoyed it – and from the train I was able to see it has some great natural beauty!
      Thank you for reading 🙂

      • I think the fact that it isn’t as known as other destinations in Europe make it all the more interesting!
        You’re welcome! 🙂

      • Very true – not do turistic maybe
        (this comment was lost here – I had not read it until now)
        Thank you for reading 🙂

    • I had not even noticed that hahah but it is true – the people make the place, and your opinion on a certain city is highly conditioned by the people you meet.
      Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

