Ljubljana

A few weeks ago I had my first experience traveling solo.
I know it does not even really count considering it was only for a couple of days – but it was long enough to get a taste of it.

After leaving my friends in Italy, I decided I would stop, on my way to Budapest, and visit the small Slovenian capital.
I left Venice very early to have a seven hour trip to the neighbouring country. Apparently, as I found out, it is quite difficult to leave Italy by train. At least from Venice. If you want to do this trip, I explained how to do it in a previous post, and you can check it out here.


I had not done any real research on what to see or do. And except for some pictures that looked nice, I don’t even know what drew me to this city.


Having no great expectations this city blew me away.

The city is in fact tiny. I was there for one day and felt it was almost enough, – in a tourist kind of way.
But contrary to so many places, it is alive and full of culture.
The thing I loved about this city, was the feeling I got that it must one incredible city to live in – very young and cool.

Recently I have become a very big fan of free tours.
The concept is really simple – a local guide will show you around the city on a walking tour, giving you the history and some hidden tips from a local point of view. It works, of course, on a tipping system, and if you enjoy the tour you should give some money at the end.
I can not say I am a big expert on free tours – considering I only did two, – but both of them were amazing.

The Ljubljana tour was the first one I did – and besides the history of the city, a little bit about Yugoslavia and the war, our guide also told us about the more than ten thousand events the city hosts every year. Of course there are a lot of jam sessions and outdoor cinema showings and other small events in this number – but it is still impressive – and goes to show how active the city is.

The Slovenian people are incredibly nice – and everyone speaks english.
And after some more research I found Slovenia to have a lot of impressive landscapes – which will make me return and properly visit this country.

I took of course a lot of pictures, and after a selection of 26, I decided to divide them in two posts. On the next post I’ll talk about the experience of travelling solo, and obviously post a lot more pictures.

DSC_0659 DSC_0660 DSC_0663 DSC_0667 DSC_0676 DSC_0677 DSC_0682 DSC_0686 DSC_0688 DSC_0698 DSC_0699 DSC_0701

6 responses to “Ljubljana

  1. Gorgeous photos. I’ve never traveled alone, though it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time. I’m so glad you were able to jet off for a day like this.

  2. Great subject matter in the picture with the locks. And you do a fine job of capturing how the red roofs pop out against the light blue sky. Really nice!

Leave a Reply

