Ravenna

I am a little bit addicted to travel related research.

I am not picky – not to continents, countries nor even if I even intend to visit a certain place.

My computer is filled with links to blog posts I liked, Websites with useful information and even the occasional funny travel story.

Some time after booking my flight to Italy I came across the National Geographic list of the top 10, or 20 destinations for 2013.

Ravenna was one of them.

But in the middle of so many sites, and blogs, I simply memorised this and assumed it should be good, – if the chance would come, maybe we could go there?

I did not even give much thought, or bothered to research about it. I had it on the back of my head as a far away possibility if, and only if, we found the time.

Eventually, when discussing day trips from Venice with my friends I brought this up, they went along with it, and only in the train there I started to actually read anything about it.

My guide had a short page on Ravenna and talked about its Byzantine mosaics – Oh crap, I don’t even really like that kind of things.

Byzantine? Mosaics?

Eventually we arrived at the small little town and found our way to the tourist board.

Apparently this small, little town is home to 8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Which is slightly impressive, I have to admit.

Still not knowing exactly what to expect we walked our way to number one. Bought the tickets and got in.

We were led to some stairs, and suddenly, out of nowhere we got in a huge, amazing, beautiful basilica.

We were flabbergasted. And we had the whole place to ourselves.

I had clearly underestimated the power, and beauty of Byzantine Mosaics. Clearly.

Who knew they could be so incredibly beautiful?

We only got to 6 of the 8 sites. And we rushed a bit since we could have stayed the whole day just in the first two.

Klimt did his studies there, and the song Night and Day was also inspired by one of the churches.

I took some pictures that are far from the spectacular beauty of this places.

DSC_0157 DSC_0081 DSC_0083 DSC_0063 DSC_0090 DSC_0095 DSC_0093 DSC_0112 DSC_0116 DSC_0117 DSC_0163 DSC_0147 DSC_0158 DSC_0118

 

Leave a Reply

