Venice by night

I can’t say Venice is my favourite city.

I know, I know, how could you dislike it? It is so incredibly beautiful.

The thing is, I do find it lovely, and this time around way more than I did the first time I visited.

Nevertheless I still found it too touristic, and to be too much like a set. – It lacks a life of its own.

There is however a time when Venice reaches its full beauty, and becomes absolutely unique.

If you get up soon enough, or go to bed after hours, you will have Venice all to your self.

Last night, I talked about it with my, now Venetian, friend.

As we sat in San Marco completely alone she told me – this is probably the only city on the world where you can go out at night and hear complete silence.

Not a soul, not a car.

And it is indeed true. We walked around Venice several times at night and we were the only people out in the streets.

There is something incredibly beautiful and melancholic in Venice at that time.

I forgot my camera a couple of times and wasn’t able to properly photograph it as I wanted. But I’ll leave you with the ones I took.

 

DSC_0246 DSC_0244 DSC_0219 DSC_0215  DSC_0176

2 responses to “Venice by night

Leave a Reply

