Piú bella Roma

I have been neglecting my dear blog.

I do apologise, but the past week has been too fast to stop and write down everything.

I am in Florence, arrived yesterday, but before writing about my time here, I though I should talk about Rome.

This past Monday morning the world woke up to the news of Pope resigning.

I was in Rome – the center of Catholic church, had seen the pope the day before, and spent the day oblivious to this “little” piece of information.

With no television, very limited internet access, and no Italian newspapers, we found this out, later in the day, on a bus, after starting to talk with a couple of old lady’s, – who eventually let us know about what was going on.

After almost six hundred years, this came quite as a shock to the rest of the world. But like many others I find this to be a brave, humble decision – and am sure he thoroughly thought it through.

On Monday, contrary to our first decision, we decided not to go to  the vatican, but simply walk around the city.

I have fallen in love with Rome. And have found their saying of “Roma, non basta una vita” to be very true. A lifetime is indeed not enough.

We walked around the city everyday, and my feet resent me for that at the end of every day. Resent, not resented – they still hurt after a couple of hours of walking.

Yesterday morning the Vatican was full of cameras, Tv stations and reporters.

I am not one hundred per cent sure how the museum of the Vatican is supposed to look in low season – but I am pretty sure it was not supposed to be so full – I was having a hard time moving.

Today there was a Pope’s mass around five, and yesterday I got to see all the preparation in the Basilica, wich was surely impressive.

On one hand I am quite sad to miss that, but we had already bought the tickets, and the judging by the amount of chairs I saw, and the amount of people in the Sistine Chapel, I am almost one hundred per cent sure I would not be able to get in.

I still need to write about Venice, Ravenna, Ferrara, Padova, Venice by night, Rome by night and of course florence. I took a lot of pictures, a lot. So I’ll be posting them in the coming weeks.

For now, some pictures of Rome.DSC_0434 DSC_0513 DSC_0548 DSC_0567 DSC_0588 DSC_0593 DSC_0621 DSC_0720 DSC_0951 DSC_0962 DSC_0017 DSC_0028 DSC_0031 DSC_0032 DSC_0052 DSC_0054 DSC_0056 DSC_0074 DSC_0090 DSC_0094 DSC_0105 DSC_0130 DSC_0144

5 responses to “Piú bella Roma

  1. I can only imagine how cool it is to be in Rome when the news about the Pope’s resignation broke out! I was raised a pretty hardcore Catholic (but I don’t really practice it anymore) and I know and understand how important the Pope, the Vatican, and all these stuff are to Catholics around the world.

    I was in Rome for a week two summers ago and the Vatican was on my priority list. I loved Rome so much. I visited Fontana di Trevi every single day I was there. 😀

    I hope you are having a fantastic time in Florence!

    • It is! it was very cool to see it all happen in the spot and to have seen the Pope the day before! Rome is absolutely amazing!
      Thank you for reading 😀

Leave a Reply

