Inhotim

In Brumadinho, a small town near Belo Horizonte in Brazil, stands a magnificent contemporary art museum.

It is basically a huge open air museum that invites you to walk in their gardens, and admire the arquitecture in between the art-seeing

Now I have been there twice and it is still one of my favourite places in Brazil. Obviously I still have a lot to find out about the country, but something tells me I will always enjoy coming here.

The gardens are magnificent, the arquitecture is just right, and of course, being a student of the arts, admiring the work of some of my future “collegues” is always a good plan.

This is the building where you come to hear the center of the earth. It has a continuous sound, that somehow relaxes you. Also, the glasses in the building make you walk around it to be able to see the outside.

This is the building where you come to hear the center of the earth. It has a continuous sound, that somehow relaxes you. Also, the glasses in the building make you walk around it to be able to see the outside.

This building was one of my favourites. Inside there was mirror illusions, and the piece was amazing - I was really sad I could not photograph it

This building was one of my favourites. Inside there was mirror illusions, and the piece was amazing – I was really sad I could not photograph it

This was not a particularly good day to photograph, the light was defenitly not the best. Thankfully, the water was very still allowing to see the reflections of the buildings very clearly

This was not a particularly good day to photograph, the light was defenitly not the best.
Thankfully, the water was very still allowing to see the reflections of the buildings very clearly

The water in the lakes is different coloured. In this one, they add an artificial blue colour, that is supposed to be environmental friendly. It looks beautifull.

The water in the lakes is different coloured. In this one, they add an artificial blue colour, that is supposed to be environmental friendly. It looks beautifull.

Back in BH I don't know why but I really enjoy this picture.

Back in BH I don’t know why but I really enjoy this picture.

I’ll leave you to the pictures I’ve taken. No photographs of the works are allowed, so I could only take some of the gardens.

One response to “Inhotim

  1. Pingback: Inhotim | (pre) concept - break your journey·

Leave a Reply

