Cabanaconde by bus

Everyone who travels on the cheap, and visits not so ocidental countrys must have at least one good transportation story. I find that often a bus or a train will tell you a lot about the country you are in.

Strangely enough, there are days when you don’t really feel up to  it.

Unfortunatly for me, I was having one of those days, after a night bus from Cusco to Arequipa. And then we were still 6 hours away from our final destination.

After trekking to Machu Picchu somehow we chose to get to the colca canyon and (maybe) do some more trekking.

catching a lift down with the rest of the ladys

catching a lift down with the rest of the ladys

old woman closing her door

old woman closing her door

on her way to the festivities

on her way to the festivities

This man just layed there. He was probably drunk - I thought he looked really funny

This man just layed there. He was probably drunk – I thought he looked really funny

.

procession

procession

procession

procession

young lady with her baloon, she caught my eye and this is still one of my favourites

young lady with her baloon, she caught my eye and this is still one of my favourites

the hats as people wait for the beginning

the hats as people wait for the beginning

man in the middle of the canyon

man in the middle of the canyon

latecomers

latecomers

condors of the canyon

condors of the canyon

this is one of my best shots. The condors are amazing, majestic and kind enough to be easilly spotted

this is one of my best shots. The condors are amazing, majestic and kind enough to be easilly spotted

old friends (?)

old friends (?)

very cute young boy

very cute young boy

Of course I had already decided I would not. And thought I’d just relax for a couple of days.

Then we got on the bus, and three hours in all was good. But when we stopped, probably the hole village decided to get in.

Obviously, I was left with an old peruvian women on top of me, with her huge bag in my legs.

I will be honest, it would have been fine if she didn’t smell. But she did. And it was bad. I don’t even have that much sense of smell – and still, it was really bad.

That is probably one of the worst things for me to deal with – smells. And as you can guess, I was pretty uncomfortable by then.

Soon enough the excess of people inside the bus started to warm up the place. And the smelly lady, who had her stuff on top of me, and was almost sitting on my lap, decided her hat was upsetting her. And looking at me she found the solution.

Uncovering the dirty hair beneath the hat, she took it off and placed it on my head. She laughed, I unconfortably smiled, then the older population on the bus laughed, then everybody around laughed and I sat there for a long time, with that hat on my head thinking how long would I have to wait before taking it off. Great, I probably have lice now!

So the lice only came after my return, when my 8 year old sister gave them to me. But, contrary to my sister who was really amused, I was only to see the funny side of the situation after we got out the bus.

I was also not that glad about going to the canyon. But then we arrived and the town festivities were on and amazing.

Being a photography addict, I was happy – really happy. Everyone had the tippical clothes on, and there was musica, and there was dancing, and we were in the middle of the canyon.

Soon enough I was really thankfull too be there, and the bus ride was just amuzing.

9 responses to “Cabanaconde by bus

  1. Hey I really liked this post, the photograph’s you’ve taken are just beautiful. Some of the captions made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

